Neath Port Talbot is a county borough in South Wales, stretching from the Brecon Beacons to the coast. It includes the communities of Neath, Port Talbot, Briton Ferry, Pontardawe and Glynneath. 

Neath Port Talbot is one of the six authorities in the Education for Regional Working (ERW) Joint Education Service. In October 2019, the council gave ERW notice that it would leave the Service if there was no improvement in the following sixth months. 

The school population numbers just under 20,000 and the authority is responsible for 63 schools.

There are 52 primary schools with an average size of 206 pupils, ranging from Crymlyn Primary School with just under 70 pupils to Crynallt Primary School with just over 440 pupils. 

There are five secondary schools, after one school closed at the end of the 2018-19 school year. Only one (St Joseph's Catholic School) has a sixth form. 

There are three through schools in Neath Port Talbot, one of which has a sixth form.

There are two special schools, one of which has post-16 provision.

Out of the 52 primary schools, nine are Welsh medium. None of the secondary schools are Welsh medium. One of the through schools (with a sixth form) is Welsh medium.

Follow the links below for more information and analysis . . .